Witney and West Oxfordshire CLP

Witney and West Oxfordshire Constituency Labour Party (CLP) is an active local group with over 1000 members.  We encourage debate and involvement at all levels: as individuals we contribute in a non-partisan way to a wide variety of activities in our local communities; as a group we campaign against injustice and inequality in the policies put forward at County, District and local levels; and we contribute our ideas to Labour Party policy at the national level.

The Parliamentary Candidate for the Witney Constituency in the General Election on 8 June was Laetisia Carter (centre of the front row in the picture above).  You can read more about her here.

If you are interested in political ideas, you are welcome to come to one of the public meetings we arrange, addressed by a speaker with national knowledge, and join in the discussion (you don’t have to be a member).  At CLP and branch meetings, we also have discussions as well as the more formal business.  We hold regular social events at both branch and constituency level: not everything we do is deadly serious and our quizzes, for instance, are great fun.

The number of Labour councillors in West Oxfordshire is gradually increasing.  Our councillors guarantee to talk to people and find out what the issues are that matter to you as an individual before an election, and then to stay in touch regularly when they are elected: they believe that too many councillors only talk to constituents at election time.

There are three local branches of Witney Constituency Labour Party which hold regular meetings: these are based in Witney, Chipping Norton and Eynsham.

Witney Branch

For information about Witney Branch meetings contact the secretary, Hugo Kerr: ku.oc.liamtohnull@rrekoguh.

Chipping Norton Branch

Contacts for Chipping Norton Branch are:

Geoff Saul, Acting Chair

David Heyes, Treasurer

Chipping Norton Branch organises a Brian Hodgson Memorial Walk annually, usually in May: for information contact David Heyes.

Eynsham Branch

Contacts for Eynsham Branch are:

Elsa Dawson, Chair

Penelope Middelboe, Secretary